Back in Circles!

Well, I finally did it…got back into my model airplane hobby after 40 years of lay-off. Now that I’m older and a bit more financially capable with spare time, I can afford the control-line hobby that I gave up years ago when “real life” stepped in.

A year ago I made the mistake of going to that online auction monster and found that the models I built (or drooled to have) when I was a teen could be had pretty readily. I was taken aback to find that the cost was going to be so high, however. Planes and engines that I used to desire at $2.00 dollars and $5.00 respectively were now considered collector’s items and *could* be had –  at exorbitant prices. But what the heck, the heart wants what the heart wants, right?

So, after some time collecting and little time building, I finally met some flyers here in New England that flew the old-style classic way; not radio control, but rather the venerable method of standing in the middle of a circle and letting the plane roar around 60 feet away, climbing, diving, looping, flying upside-down and (sometimes) playing lawn dart in a crunching crash; all at the flick of a wrist.

I completed four planes and was pretty pleased with the results; the last one being a new technology electric plane that I just “had” to have after watching one of the veterans put his through its very quiet and perfect routine. I found out that my passion for flying had been tempered by the caution of *maturity*, however and I was reluctant to actually “fly” my creations for over a year. Finally I was gently but firmly goaded by the senior pilots to get off my duff and put something in the air.

So, on a perfect afternoon in Saugus, MA, I met up with my friend Dick, a great flyer, and two others to get my wings dusted off. After an initial technical inspection to make sure the plane was safe, Dick took the plane up to make sure it was ready to hand off to me. We put a fresh battery in and I took the control handle with more than a little trepidation. Dick started the engine and off I went! The plane left the closely mown grass after only a few feet and didn’t disappoint me or surprise me with any bad habits. I felt as if I had never left the circle I remembered from the ’70’s.

I was back and severely hooked!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA ME109 Ringmaster_02 Shoestring02 Clown01 yak02

June 12th, 2014

I just completed the finishing touches to my Electric Super Ringmaster and I’m pretty happy happy with the way it turned out. The only problem I have right now is that I have gout in my right wrist so I will have to hold off flying for a bit. Here are a couple of shots of the effort.

SRM02SRM03

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

